Lunch Plus More Offers Opportunities To Join Clubs

Students working on a project at a Key Club meeting.

Northern’s one hour lunch offers students a chance to get involved in clubs, in the community, and to make friendships with people who share common interests. Some students have taken the initiative to join multiple clubs this year. Junior Ian Bonanno, a member of nine clubs, said, “I want to be an active member of the school.” As the president of the Model UN, vice president of the Young Democrats, recycling coordinator of the Lorax club, and a member of the Gay Straight Alliance, Turtle Club, Academy of Finance, Book Club, Junior States of America (JSA), and Future Business Leaders of America, Bonanno has a club meeting every day of the week, and sometimes even two meetings a day. He said, “It gives me something interesting to do with my time.”

Joining a variety of clubs expands a student’s resume while allowing for more leadership and volunteering opportunities. Bonanno said, “It adds to my work load. On top of my homework for my AP classes, I’m doing my work for the clubs, but it pays of in the end.” Being a part of a club should be more than a way to look better on college applications. Junior Gabbie Webb, a member of six clubs (the Model UN, Lorax, GSA, FBLA, Young Democrats, and Women’s StudiesClub) said, “I join the clubs that I care about. The personal connection is my motivation.”

Clubs are a way for students to advocate for things that they care about. Northern’s clubs range from the Magic: The Gathering group to the Psych Club. If you can’t find a group you like, you can always start a new one. Joining multiple clubs can be a huge undertaking, but it gives you a chance to positively affect your community.

Skylar Mealing, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar