Q and A with Ryan Myers

RyanMyersRyan Meyers, a humble junior here at Northern, is a quiet unassuming student. No one would guess that he is a talented soccer player, extremely active in his community, and a star student, as shown by his stellar SAT scores. He was more than happy to talk about his active lifestyle and many achievements.

Q: What sports do you play?

A: I like to play soccer. I enjoy the exercise and a chance to stretch my legs after a long day sitting in a desk at school studying.

Q: What position do you play?

A: For our regional champion team here at Northern I usually play outside midfielder because it means I will get to run a lot. But for my select team, I play stopper and center midfielder so I control the middle of the field and distribute the ball.

Q: What do you do in your spare time?

A: I try to give back to my community through Boy Scouts. Scouts benefits both my family and myself.

Q: How did you get involved in Boy Scouts?

A: My dad got me involved. I started as a tiger cub and worked my way up with his support and encouragement.

Q: What projects have you done for Boy Scouts?

A: Well, for my Eagle Scout project I renovated the walkway behind the Humane Society so now it looks much more visually attractive, but I have participated in many different projects throughout the years.

Q: What were your scores on the SAT?

A: My total was 2190. I got a 690 in Critical Reading, a 730 in Writing, and a 770 in Math. I was really happy to get that score in Math. I got the 730 in Writing by making up an ancient Sudanese proverb. It was a tip I read in my friend’s SAT Prep book.

Q: Was this your first time taking the test?

A: No, this was my third time. I took it once as a freshman, once as a sophomore, and a third time in junior year. I think I might try one more time just to see if I can break 700 in Critical Reading.

Q: Did you study before you took it?

A: A little, not much. I looked over the Math section of an SAT Prep book like three days before I took it.

Q: Is school easy for you?

A: Fortunately, it usually is, yes. But AP Chemistry is a pretty tough class this year. Probably the hardest class I have taken so far.

Q: What Colleges do you plan to apply to next year?

A: The University of Virginia, Virginia Tech, The University of Maryland, College Park, and Cornell are on my list up to this point.

–Annie Collins, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar