Golf Team Faces Challenges in Winning Season

Senior Nick Poudrier takes a swing.

Senior Nick Poudrier takes a swing.

Northern golf has faced many challenges this season coming back from an undefeated season last year. They lost many key golfers, but they are staying positive and have started out the season with a great start. The team is 4-1 through the first five regular season matches. “I feel like I played well, but I could have played a whole lot better,” said senior Nick Poudrier.

The team isn’t doing as well as they did last year, but they’re still achieving considering the team members they graduated last season. Although they lost key people, the whole team had big goals for this season. “My goals for the team are to win SMAC, and my personal goals are to shoot under par in a tournament,” said Poudrier. Winning SMAC back-to-back years would be a great accomplishment. The team is working extra hard to achieve this goal. “I plan on improving this season practicing more, and going to get more lessons so I can play to my full potential,” said senior Dylan Brotherton.

Coach Mickey Norfolk said, “ My goals are to have busses by the end of the season and to improve as a team, and win some tournaments,” he said. Dealing with the expectations after an undefeated season may be hard, but if they work the way they plan to who knows what this team can do. A 4-1 start isn’t so bad so far with all the young talent they have on the team. The team qualified as a team to go to States at the District Tournament Monday. Nick Poudrier and Kerry Hennigan both shot 78s leading the team. Lets see what County,,SMAC, and States have in store for the Nothern golf team.

–Erik Larson, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar