Girls Varsity Soccer Tops Lackey at Senior Night

Girls Varsity Soccer senior night was last Thursday, October 18, at home against Lackey. The girls started off strong with a goal from junior Molly Ferguson. “Senior night is always a fun game, so spirits were high,” said Ferguson. “Even though it was sad thinking about losing our seniors, we all wanted to go out hard and win the game. Scoring the first goal of the game was an amazing feeling that really completed the night for me.”

Stamina was strong during the entire game and the seniors played a majority of the game. “I’m glad we didn’t play down to their level, and during the game we focused on possession and touches which will help us during the playoffs,” said senior Kiana Brown. The ladies were leading by many goals at halftime, so senior goalie Maggi Buckley took the field for the second half as attacking center midfield scoring her first goal of the season. “Scoring my first goal on Varsity from 35 yards out was amazing! I never thought I could kick a ball like that. I just heard someone on the sidelines say ‘shoot,’ so I turned and shot and the ball went in the top right corner! It was a great feeling,” said Buckley.

The final score of the game was 14-0 with Northern on top. The team played very well and they are going to miss the seniors who are leaving this year.

–Tara Truitt, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar