Single on Valentine’s Day

With Valentine’s Day here, students are thinking about how they feel about the holiday. Some are happy for the chance to focus on their significant other, others are sad that they have no one to be their Valentine. For single students, the day can be a challenge.  We asked singles how they feel about Valentine’s Day.

“It’s just going to be another normal day, so I’m just going to do what I normally do. I’m glad that I don’t have a significant other this Valentine’s Day.”
–Senior Jacob Bond

“I’m going to watch lovey dovey movies with my teddy bear named Cuddles. I wish I did have somebody to spend this holiday with. That’d be nice.”
–Senior Ariel Jewel

“This year, I’m going to sit in my room and cry and eat lots of chocolate. But I’m enjoying being single. I’m okay with being single, so I’m okay with spending Valentine’s Day alone this year.”
–Senior Courtnie Grierson

“I don’t have any plans yet, and I’m glad that I don’t have anyone to spend this dumb holiday with. I’m not going to even acknowledge it as a holiday.”
–Junior Nick Dawes

“This year, I’m going to buy something for my mom and take her out somewhere nice to eat. Not having a girlfriend on Valentine’s Day is good because it helps me save money.”
–Junior Maurice Spriggs

“I haven’t planned anything yet because it is just going to be a normal day for me.  It’d be nice to have a significant other to share the day with, though.  But, I am used to being alone, so it’s okay.”
–Junior Julie Keleti

“I am just going to hang out with my friends all day since I do not have a girlfriend.”
–Freshman Todd Bohrer

“I am happy being single for Valentine’s Day because I like the freedom of it, and I am glad I don’t have any plans with any special person.”
–Freshman Shaylin Abner

Skip to toolbar