Thanksgiving Disasters

The aroma of turkey fills the air as families across America sit down for their traditional feast.  Most people think of Thanksgiving as a peaceful time shared with family and friends, a day to relax and give thanks for all that you have. Sometimes, however, these special days don’t go as planned. Students and staff shared their experiences with some of their worst Thanksgiving Day disasters.   

My husband met my family for the first time on Thanksgiving. In trying to impress them with his chef skills, he decided that he would fry a turkey. He nearly burned down my parents house and is no longer allowed to be associated with the turkey on Thanksgiving. -Mrs. Laura Rozengota, photography teacher

I was wrestling with one of my neighbors and fell off a couch and sprained my shoulder. I cried all the way home and my dad took me to Urgent Care right before we were going to eat Thanksgiving dinner. -Eric James, 12

A couple of years ago, my entire family was gathered around the Thanksgiving dinner table. Just before we sat down to say grace, we lost power and the entire home was dark. Needless to say, we had each other and truly appreciated what we were grateful for. -Ms. Heidi Jarmin, counselor

One Thanksgiving when I was really little my mom was making our Thanksgiving dinner, and she heard a noise at the door, so she went to go see what it was. She saw a bear and went screaming out of the house yelling for my dad. It was really funny. -Jorgen Larsen, 12

One Thanksgiving, we were going to my in-laws farm in Luray. I was in charge of baking the pies for dinner. Well, my oldest son got very sick on Wednesday and when we went to the doctor he told us that we could not travel. So we had to stay home. Since I was unprepared for the dinner, we ate hot dogs and pumpkin and apple pie. -Mrs. Suzanne Zimmerman, vice principal

One Thanksgiving, my cousin stayed the night after we had our family dinner. I woke up in the middle of the night and he was standing in the doorway crying for his parents. It didn’t seem too strange to me until I noticed that he wasn’t wearing any pants… or underwear. -Hordy Beauzile 11

About ten years ago, we went to my mother-in-law’s house for dinner on Thanksgiving. The house smelled so good. She had made every dish on the planet. We were all so excited to sit down and eat. Right before dinner she pulled out the ham and realized that she had cooked it inside all of the plastic wrappings. It was ruined. We ended up having Chinese food in Prince Frederick because it was the only thing open. We still laugh about this. -Mrs. Wendi Ring, government and history teacher.

–Kelly Jensen, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar