Basketball and Lacrosse Hit the Gym For Conditioning

Boys Basketball

The boys basketball team started conditioning early in the Fall to prepare for the Winter basketball season. “I think the early conditioning helps us better help ourselves and get into better shape, and it just helps us better prepare,” said senior Shane Martin. Since last season, the team has lost some important key starting seniors.

Each week, boys basketball players conditioned four days a week – two days weightlifting and two days working out in the gym. “By conditioning, it helps us better prepare for the season. We are going against tough teams this year and we need to be as prepared as possible and doing all the early conditioning will help us a lot,” said head coach Clarence Tennell. Conditioning was also open to anyone to who wanted to join.

The basketball season starts November 15 and the boys are working hard to get ready to win this year. “I like going to the conditioning because I can get better, and it helps me get in shape for the season,” said sophomore Darryl Workcuff.

Boys Lacrosse

In past seasons the Northern High School lacrosse team has had conditioning sessions in the winter to get ready for their season in March. Not this year. Since the start of September the team has been working hard. Team captain Zach Fabian commented, “I missed out all last season, and I need to put in the work to make for what I missed last season.”

The team hits the track Tuesdays and Thursdays from 2:45 to 4 p.m. On the track, they work on cardio, core, and muscle endurance. Another captain, Matt Cleary, said,”I want to make myself the best player I can be in order to make my team better so that we can win states.” Another captain, Chris Baxa, stated, “I do it not only to become a better player, but to set an example for the lacrosse players of Northern High School”. The captains work together to push their teammates to strive for new and bigger accomplishments.
-Justin Taylor and Hannah Magallanes, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar