Q&A With Volleyball Player Jasmine DeSilva

DeSilva

DeSilva

Elite volleyball player junior Jasmine DeSilva plays year round and is now thinking about a future college career.

Q: How long have you been playing volleyball?

A: Since seventh grade.

Q: What clubs have you played for?

A: SMJ 14s, BAVA south 18s, BAVA 18s elite,  and now NVVA 17-1 select.

Q: Where do you play now?

A: NVVA 17-1 and that’s my favorite place I‘ve played.

Q: Where is the farthest you’ve ever gone for a tournament?

A: This season I’m going to Vegas and Colorado.

Q: What position do you play?

A: Outside (hitter).

Q: What other positions have you played?

A: Outside and middle.

Q: What is your favorite position to play?

A: Definitely outside!

Q: What colleges are you interested in playing for?

A: I hope to play for a D1 college not too far away from home, such as Brown College, William and Mary College, Virginia Tech, etc.

Q: Have any colleges expressed interest in you?

A: I get a lot of emails, but so does every other volleyball player, from, like, JMU (James Madison), William and Mary, George Mason, Virginia Tech, and Depaul.

Q: Going into your senior year, what are your expectations for the season?

A: My expectations are to continue to work on the skills to develop my game and be ready to compete on a college level.  Every college coach has a different thing I should concentrate on, so I set goals for each month to work on each of them.  Senior year is important, but for recruiting process junior year is the real test.

-Jessica Ward, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar