Q & A with Cosmetology Student Olivia Dehart

DeHartQ: Why did you choose to attend the Career Center to get your cosmetology license?

A: I’ve waned to do cosmetology since I was a little girl. I have a passion for making people feel great and confident about themselves.

Q: How long have you been involved?

A: This is my third year of cosmetology at the Career Center

Q: What has been your best experience in the program?

A: I got the opportunity to work with a professional makeup artist and got to compete in a fantasy makeup competition that I got second place in.

Q: What other competitions and awards have you won?

A: I have competed in both makeup and hairstyling competitions. I have received second and third place.

Q: How will you receive your cosmetology license?

A: At the end of the year, the State Board comes to the school and evaluates us on ten different skills. Then we have to take a theory test. Once passing with a 75% or better, I will receive my license.

Q: What are your plans after high school?

A: I want to start off working as a stylist and eventually open my own salon. Another dream of mine is to do makeup for the actors and actresses in Broadway shows or movies.

Q: What is the weirdest thing you have had to do in cosmetology?

A: I dyed the underneath of someone’s hair half red and half blue.

Dehart at work at the Career Center.

Dehart at work at the Career Center.

Q: What are your favorite and least favorite things to do?

A: My favorite thing to do is to cut people’s hair. I enjoy the creativity and technique used to give someone the perfect hair cut. My least favorite thing is doing perms or roller sets. Those take a long time, and I don’t like waiting for them to be finished.

Q: How do you practice?

A: We practice the skills on our mannequins. There are some skills that we get to practice on each other, like facials and manicures.

Q: Who would be your dream celebrity client?

A: Julie Marie Blum.

–Julia Hause, The Patriot Press

Skip to toolbar